The following is a complete guide to the Massachusetts Marijuana Laws, both medically and recreationally.
Massachusetts Medical Marijuana Laws
In November of 2012, Massachusetts became the 18th state in the United States to permit the use of medical marijuana under Question 3. The final vote tallied as 63% for, 47% against.
In 2013, the medical marijuana statute went into effect. This allowed patients to possess and use medical marijuana if the patient met all of the following criteria:
1) Patient is 18 years of age or older
2) Patient has a qualifying debilitating medical condition to (see the qualifying conditions here)
3) Patient has a physician certification.
If the patient does not meet all of the above criteria, then the use of medical marijuana is unlawful.
The following is a history on the Massachusetts Recreational Marijuana Laws.
When did Massachusetts first decriminalize marijuana?
In 2008, Massachusetts decriminalized the use of marijuana.
What did the decriminalization marijuana in Massachusetts do?
Prior to decriminalization, possessors charged faced $500 and up to six months in jail. After decriminalization, possession of under one ounce in marijuana became only a $100 fine without reporting the charge to state’s criminal history board.
When did Massachusetts marijuana legalization occur?
Massachusetts marijuana legalization occurred in November of 2016, when voters passed Question 4. This legalized recreational marijuana for individuals 21 years of age or older. The law went into effect on December 15, 2016.
How much marijuana can you possess in Massachusetts?
Under Massachusetts’ new recreational cannabis laws, adults 21 years of age or older are allowed to possess up to one ounce of marijuana outside of their residence and up to ten ounces of marijuana inside their residence. Massachusetts law says you can possess 1 ounce on your person in public; if you’re in a vehicle, your stash needs to be locked up out of sight. You can keep 10 ounces of cannabis at home.
So, is the Massachusetts Recreational Marijuana Market Open?
The Massachusetts recreational marijuana commercial market is not yet live. However, the adult-use market is expected to open very shortly in July of 2018.
How much marijuana can you purchase in Massachusetts?
The amount of medical marijuana you can purchase in Massachusetts is currently limited to a 60 day supply of up to 10 ounces from a dispensary with each prescription. You may be able to purchase more if your doctor deems it medically necessary.
The legalization of recreational marijuana in Massachusetts in December 2016 allowed individuals 21 years of age or older to possess marijuana. will not be able purchase marijuana until recreational dispensaries open in July of 2018.
What are the Registered Marijuana Dispensary Store Hours in Massachusetts?
Individual cities regulate the hours of Massachusetts marijuana dispensaries, so store hours differ dispensary-by-dispensary. Our hours at NEA are 10AM – 6PM every day of the week!
Where can you consume recreational marijuana in Massachusetts?
Public consumption of recreational or medical marijuana in Massachusetts is illegal. Defined by the state, the public includes sidewalks, schools, parks, transport, etc. Therefore, use discretion when consuming cannabis in Massachusetts. It is legal to use marijuana in private residences.
Can you drive under the influence of marijuana in Massachusetts?
No. Driving while under the influence of marijuana in Massachusetts results in an OUI charge. Massachusetts does not require a minimum amount of marijuana to be in your system to prove impairment. An OUI charge is a misdemeanor for the first defense, but if you are convicted, penalties can vary from jail time, substantial fines, suspension of license or more.
What do you need to do to get a medical marijuana card in Massachusetts?
A physician certification is a document signed by a doctor who believes the benefits of using marijuana outweigh the risks in your case. The physician certification also states the debilitating condition, which may include any of the following
Keep in mind that Massachusetts’ medicinal marijuana law doesn’t allow you to obtain a physician certification from just any physician. You and your certifying physician must have a “bona fide physician-patient relationship” in an effort to prevent doctor mills from popping up and churning out baseless medicinal marijuana certifications.
Under the law, a bona fide physician-patient relationship exists between doctors acting in the regular course of their practice and a patient with whom they’ve had a complete clinical visit. The doctor must complete and document an assessment of the patient’s current medical conditions and medical history, explain the risks and benefits of marijuana use, and play a role in the patient’s treatment and ongoing care. Typically speaking, these certifications will cost around $200 (from places like Canna Care or GreenWay Massachusetts).
You’ll also need to register with the Medical Use of Marijuana Program to receive an ID card authorizing you to have medical marijuana. The registration fee is $50 unless your income falls below 300 percent of the federal poverty level. You’ll need to have your Program ID Card and a state-issued photo ID with you to possess or purchase medical marijuana legally. Once your certification and registration are in order, you’re allowed to possess a sixty-day supply of marijuana, or up to 10 ounces, unless your doctor determines that your condition warrants higher doses.
How much medical marijuana can a registered patient carry?
Patient’s with a medical marijuana card can carry a 60-day supply of their physician-prescribed dosage. The limit is 10 ounces unless otherwise prescribed.
Can you transport marijuana in Massachusetts?
Transportation of marijuana in Massachusetts is illegal unless you are a registered medical marijuana patient, a caregiver or an agent of a registered marijuana dispensary.
Can you export marijuana in Massachusetts?
Marijuana is legal in Massachusetts and many other states, but marijuana is still a federally illegal and controlled substance. This means that traveling across state lines with marijuana will incur a federal felony crime. There are states that have reciprocity with other states for medical marijuana. The bottom line is to do comprehensive research prior to moving across state lines with marijuana.
NEA is the premiere medical marijuana dispensary in Massachusetts. Located in Fall River, MA, Northeast Alternatives has award-winning medical marijuana products, knowledgeable staff, and a therapeutic atmosphere.
Our cultivation team has a combined 60+ years of growing experience. Our plants are top of the line for medical marijuana in Massachusetts.